Skip to main content

The 2019 EVworld NZ Champions Awards finalists are announced.  Judges Mike Underhill, Stella Stocks, Liz Yeaman and Rod Oram commended the overall impact of the work happening across New Zealand to champion EVs and the decarbonisation of New Zealand’s fleet, which was evidenced in the 36 award entries submitted. The judges recognised those entries that demonstrated strategic impact, innovation and a future focus.

The 2018 EV Champion of the Year Award winner Martin Kane said that the EV World Awards are a great opportunity to consider the vast amount of dedication from local industry and individuals. 

“In particular, the EV Champion Award gives the chance to give recognition to the “volunteer,” to the person who promotes EVs – not because they are paid for doing so – but simply because they care – be it for the planet, or for New Zealand’s energy independence, or for the joy of seeing others excited by a new experience or life-changing realisation!”

The 2019 winners will be announced at an awards cocktail function on the evening of August 1st – following the end of Day 1 of the industry conference. The EVworld NZ exhibition will also be open for a special preview for all awards finalists, invited guests and conference attendees.


2019 EVworld NZ Champions Finalists


2019 EV Champion of the Year

– Joe Camuso

– Richard Heaps

– Rob McEwan

– Sigurd Magnusson


2019 Fleet Champion of the Year

– Northland Regional Council

– NZ Post

– Opus


2019 Most EV Friendly Town

– Christchurch City Council

– Thames-Coromandel District Council

– Wellington City Council


2019 EV Sales & Service Award

– EV City

– EVS Enhanced

– Hyundai New Zealand


For further information please contact Paula Cleghorn or see