Skip to main content

Press release

7th December 2023

The board of Drive Electric, a not-for-profit with a mission to accelerate the uptake of e-mobility in Aotearoa New Zealand, announced the appointment of three new board members, Jenny Cresswell, Moonis Vegdani, and Katherine Sandford.

Jenny Cresswell
Moonis Vegdani
Katherine Sandford

Incoming Board Chair Kirsten Corson says, “We are delighted to welcome Jenny Cresswell (Hyundai), Moonis Vegdani (Counties Energy/OpenLoop), and Katherine Sandford (UBCO) to the board. This talented group of directors has a diverse range of professional and sectoral experience, which will add genuine value to Drive Electric and the e-mobility ecosystem.

“Our immediate priority as a board will be to engage the incoming Government on the acceleration of e-mobility in Aotearoa New Zealand. We want to work with them to accelerate uptake in all forms of e-mobility, from cars, bikes and mopeds, to commercial vehicles and trucks. Success will depend on many factors, including the way we harness the generation and distribution of renewable electricity.

“This year we had a record number of applicants for Board roles, which is testament to the work Drive Electric is doing and the rapid uptake of electric vehicles across the country. We congratulate Jenny, Moonis, and Katherine on their appointments and look forward to working alongside them.”

About the new board members:

Jenny Cresswell, Chief Financial Officer, Hyundai

Jenny is a Chartered Accountant and has experience across automotive and
logistics. She is also an experienced director in the not-for-profit sector. Jenny is committed to the mainstream adoption of electric mobility, and creating a cleaner transport future.

Moonis Vegdani, Group Chief Strategy and Transformation Officer, Counties Energy / OpenLoop

Moonis is a digital / technology and transformation executive with enterprise, scale-up and start-up experience, as well as not-for-profit experience. His career spreads across consulting, energy, fuels and digital services industries, with key experience in infrastructure, utilities, renewable energy, digital products, and new energy services. Moonis is committed to driving towards a sustainable and customer-focused shift towards a net-zero economy.

Katherine Sandford, Business Development, UBCO

Katherine has 30 years of international technology executive and governance
experience in corporate and early stage companies, and not-for-profits, including as Chair. Katherine has a particular interest in micro-mobility and the role two-wheeled EVs can bring to meeting New Zealand’s emissions goals, and reducing congestion
in urban areas.

These appointments have been made by the Drive Electric Board after a recruitment process. These appointments will be taken to the membership for confirmation at the AGM in 2024.

At Drive Electric’s AGM in September, the following incumbent board members were reappointed for two year terms: Kirsten Corson, Annette Azuma, Tim Calder, Eric Pellicer and Dennis Kelly.

At that meeting, outgoing Board members Mark Gilbert, Dean Sheed, and Duncan Stewart were awarded a Lifetime Membership of Drive Electric. The group joined four other Lifetime Members, Ewan Morris, Rob McEwen, Soichiro Fukutake, and Hideaki Fukutake.

The new Directors join the current board, which includes:

● Mark Gilbert, Chair (retiring, 30 December 2023)
● Kirsten Corson, incoming Chair (1 January 2024)
● Annette Azuma, Director, Business Advisory Services, Baker Tilly Staples Rodway
● Richard Dellabarca, Independent Director
● Matthew Bailey, CEO, Kings Plant Barn
● Tim Calder, Emerging Markets and Innovation Lead, Meridian Energy
● Eric Pellicer, General Manager Business Development, Powerco
● Dennis Kelly, Director Pan Tasman Fleet at FleetPartners
● Sam Steele, Managing Director APAC, EO Charging


Leave a Reply